Skip to content

Hug #6

August 4, 2010

August 2, 2010 1:25-2:25
Buckingham Fountain

Hug #6 Buckingham Fountain

Hug #6 Buckingham Fountain

“What are you promoting?”
“Hugs.”

On the bus downtown, I am excited. In a few minutes I will be hugging Sara. We will return to our comforting and familiar physical act. I liken it to lovemaking. Not the action, but rather the anticipation of physical intimacy. How lovely to share this with someone in a non-sexual way.

Today we have a sandwich board, a new addition. Now that people can come up and grab a flyer from the board, they are less likely to strike up conversation.

We become sculptural.

Three girls play and run around the fountain and around us. I imagine they are gymnasts.

When we step away from our board to give our balloons away, a couple comes up to the board, reads a flyer and then hugs. The sandwich board serves as an invitation. It is its own performance.

Later that afternoon I am walking down State street and I pass a young guy who is carrying a sign that says “You have great worth.” He is walking down the street directing this sign at people. It makes me smile. It fills my body with a bit of warmth. This is what I hope we are offering to passersby with our hugs. I want to go up to him. I want to hug him and tell him about our hugs. But I don’t, for some reason. I am too much in a hurry or too shy. Perhaps I am just resistant to something unfamiliar and outside of my routine.

I am grateful for the hugs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shannon permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:49 pm

    Beautiful project. The image of the two of you hugging is at once stunning and comforting.

  2. emily permalink
    August 10, 2010 3:34 am

    thanks for emailing about this! i wish i could be there to see/experience. i found it so interesting reading the archives of the blog how you seem to have gotten more and more effective at communicating the event (sandwich board, balloons, red dresses) as you go along, while still keeping the simplicity and purity of such a beautiful act. i am thinking of you both!

    -emily from NYC

Leave a Reply

