Skip to content

Hug #25

January 21, 2011

Hug #25
January 14, 2011, 8-9 am
Dearborn and Jackson

“You’re in the way dummies!”

Sara and I plant ourselves right outside the Monadnock building, at the corner of Jackson and Dearborn. Usually we pick a strategic spot where we can be seen but we are not in the way. Recently a friend who happened to pass us during a hug expressed to me that he wanted us to be more visible. Today we make ourselves more visible. We are right in the line of fire as commuters groggily bustle by on their way to work. A woman who is waiting for the bus shouts at us that we are in the way, although she clearly has enough room where she is standing at the bus stop. I am upset by her comment and my first response is to move out of the way. But Sara and I stay put. Maybe it’s not such a bad thing to be in the way sometimes.

It feels good to return to Sara’s embrace. I needed it. We have decided to continue with our hugs on our weekly basis. For a while it seemed like we were losing steam. We thought we needed to mix things up. But it just makes sense as we hold each other tightly on the corner of Jackson and Dearborn.

I am reminded how important it is for me to set an intention. My intention is to cultivate love and compassion for Sara and for everyone that passes by us. My intention is to be open to interactions with people, however they respond. My intention is essential because the energy that I put out directly effects the energy I receive in return. I believe the hug is powerful and peaceful. And it is.

We imagine that strangers start hugging one another as they wait on the corner for the light to change. Don’t they know it’s the only way to stay warm?

And so, our hugs continue. Every week our action stays the same but our experience changes. Perhaps we need to have patience for this simple act. It continues to edify and challenge us every time we embrace.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rustel permalink
    January 24, 2011 6:48 pm

    How much would it affect the whole situation if you wore a different color? You are a burning ember radiating warmth into the middle of the frozen concrete and the crunchy salt rush of grey and black. What if you were a ray of sunshine? Or a stand of trees? Or a clear sky on a cloudy day? Just a little thought experiment…

Leave a Reply

