Skip to content

Hug #27

February 15, 2011

 

Anti-government protesters take part in Friday prayers at Tahrir Square in Cairo February 4, 2011

 

Hug #27
Milwaukee and Western
January 28, 2011 8:00-9:00 am

Chris and I are standing at the bus stop, me in my Hug Red, on the corner of Armitage and Kedzie, and up comes Aurora on her bike all in red and we greet on the street, and we are big smiles and laughs on a sunny morning. Our bus comes and Aurora rides off to our destination. We get there just as she is locking her bike up and Chris goes on to swim. We set up on the corner and Hug. Holding her tighter than usual today, at least I feel that way. I am vulnerable I think, and groggy. I hold on to feel her supporting me, we are mostly silent until she tells me about Egypt and then we are stunned, reacting verbally, trying to comprehend, while facing the commuters slide past us, most with no affect. I wish our message could reach out to those thousands of people in Tahrir Square. I know they did not all go there looking for a fight, they were looking for their voice to be heard. And days later, I see the opposite tactic employed when I find this picture online. The most striking is the uniformity, the collective voice that is being expressed. I dont know if we, in the United States, are even capable of finding such a collective voice anymore. We are not as determined, as these people are, to risk our personal safety, our personal comfort to speak against something we believe in.

I feel a political note creeping up as I embrace Aurora. I feel the urge to fight, to do something, to say something, yell it out. Instesad, we embrace in silence, looking out at the world around us, and feel the breath of each other, calming us, assuring us, that all will be well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carol Zalek permalink
    February 16, 2011 1:17 am

    I think it’s special that you feel this way about collective America. I think we have forgotten what our forefathers fought for – what people all over the world are dying for – freedom and righting wrongs committed against humankind. Organize as these Egyptians – I fear not. Would that we could.

Leave a Reply

