Skip to content

Hug #29

February 18, 2011

Hug #29
February 10, 4:30-5:30 pm
Monroe and Michigan
– 2 degrees

“You are beautiful”

I am giddy and exuberant as I hang on to Sara on Michigan Ave. Strangely enough, everyone that passes by seems giddy and exuberant, too. Perhaps people are happy to be getting off work or perhaps they are looking forward to tomorrow (Friday), the end of the work week. Perhaps passersby are energized by a twinkling of red amid the cold white steel landscape of the Loop.

Regardless, people are bubbling. They are absolutely glowing, which is surprising because I think it’s the coldest day of the year yet.

Sara and I marvel at the mass amount of real animal fur that people are wearing today. We giggle and point in a quiet way. We rotate so one doesn’t miss that incredible (hideous?) (rabbit?) hat. It reminds me of being in Poland, where I saw more human beings wearing animals than anywhere else ever. When I was visiting, I began to make a note of every fur item that passed.

Sara tells me she likes it when my mouth is near her ear because I breathe on her ear and it is warm.

An older man, perhaps in his seventies, asks us if we are some kind of installation. I tell him we are.

We must be sending out some serious Valentine’s energy into the air because several young, good-looking men come up and give us a big hugs. One man tells us we are beautiful, which makes me blush because really he is beautiful.

We stand right outside the store “It’s My Bag” and I make the joke that they should change the name to “It’s My Hug” several times. Sara humors me every time.

Today we are like hugging rockstars. We give and receive so much love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 1:42 pm

    This post is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

