Skip to content

Hug #36

April 8, 2011

Hug #36
April 1, 2010 5:30-7:00 pm
Marwen, 833 N. Orleans St. (as part of Territories exhibit)

territory (noun):
–    an area of land under the jurisdiction of a ruler or state.
–    Zoology: an area defended by an animal or group of animals against others of the same sex or species.
–    an area defended by a team or player in a game or sport.
–    an area in which one has certain rights or for which one has responsibility to a particular activity
–    figurative an area of knowledge, activity, or experience : the contentious territory of clinical standards
–    [with adj. ] land with a specified characteristic
 

I am in control. I wake up every morning and take a shower and eat my breakfast and have a cup of tea. I make my bed. I keep my home tidy, or I try to at least. On the weekends I clean or sometimes I don’t. Despite my efforts, it still feels cluttered and chaotic. I am always thinking that it could make more sense. Sometimes I cannot even sit down to write an email without sweeping the area around my desk.

I am in control. I am a swift, self-propelled machine cruising south on Milwaukee Ave. I know the route by heart. I pass by the same landmarks every day. I stop at the red lights and accelerate on the green. I think about what I will eat for lunch and what I will eat for dinner. I think about the lessons I will teach. I have the feeling that although I am moving through space, inching closer to my destination, my body is just as far away to people who are far away as ever. It takes me 34 minutes to reach my destination or sometimes it takes me 35.

I am in control. I have a tight hold on my subject. The temperature where our bodies touch rises by the minute. There are some negative spaces – under the chin, hollow of the belly, around the pelvis. Beyond our entwined figures is great deal of negative space. This space is better defined as positive space. Sometimes the positive space between us and other bodies expands and sometimes it contracts. Sometimes there is no space at all, only connection.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

