Skip to content

Hug #37

April 15, 2011

Hug # 37
April 8, 2011 8:15-8:50 am
Jackson and Michigan Ave.

“Worst hug ever!”

It is wet, cold, and windy. My achy muscles protest as I wrap my arms around Sara. I have a tickle in my throat and my head is heavy, very very heavy. Windblown commuters hurriedly bustle past. They are soggy and under-dressed.

What happened to the spring? Where has it gone? My body is confused. Its already shifted into spring mode, but the weather keeps fluctuating.

I am sweating and shivering at the same time. Our red umbrella is basically useless. We put it away, left completely exposed to the elements.

Today people look at us like we are crazy. Maybe we are. They wonder who in their right minds would chose to be outside in this weather, hugging on a street corner in the rain. We wonder the same thing.

We have hugged in 100 degree weather and -0 weather, but hugging in feezing rain long after spring is due when we are both getting sick is where we draw the line. After about 35 minutes we call it quits. Back at her office, Sara exclaims that it was the worst hug ever. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

