Skip to content

Hug #49

August 5, 2011

Hug #49
July 10 12:30-1:30 pm
Washington Square Park, Walton St between Clark & Dearborn (across from the Newberry Library)

Several weeks have passed since this hug. I packed up my belongings and moved to a new home. I danced in front of an audience and cried. I biked many miles. I got sweaty—really really sweaty. I have been running from one commitment to the next, without leaving time for writing or reflection. The hugs have been one of my only opportunities to slow down.

Here is what I remember about Hug #49…

The park feels like a star
or rather a wheel
we embrace near the hub
we hear a bird sound but wait! It’s not a real bird, no, it’s the sound of a bird whistle
dogs, we are surrounded by dogs
a sea of white fluffy coats and high-pitched yelps
no one talks to us
in fact no one even makes eye contact
I am quiet and still
every part of my body in contact with Sara’s body perspires
my front becomes wet
cool breeze on my back

It’s like shivasana standing up
I am slightly anxious
standing here, standing still when I have so much to do
at the same time I don’t want to stop hugging
don’t want to face my life,
empty boxes longing to be filled
and stacks of paper from three years of living
Do I have to touch every one?
I want to hold on
or maybe I could be done with it all in one foul swoop
and just like that, an hour has passed
I journey to a nearby drugstore to use the bathroom
on my return I find Sara
with a new friend,
a man living in the park who recently lost his house
she offers him some food from our picnic
I admire her openness and generosity
we have a hurried picnic
and jump on our bikes
to resume the relentless grind

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carol Zalek permalink
    August 7, 2011 8:58 pm

    Hi, Aurora! I think this is one of your best posts, yet! I identify with the pain of moving. Earlier in my life, I found moving to be a positive, exciting, bettering experience. Then with years having passed by, my moves were not of my own doing. They were imposed on me. I was content, settled, yet forces outside me ripped me from my base – the safety – the very roots I’d grown and moving was very painful.

    You and Sara, and now I, can chose to HUG everyone, everything, including the pain of moving and make it into a good experience. Moving is said to be the second most stressful experience in life – second only to losing a loved one. That’s heavy, but your and Sara’s HUGS are like reiki, in a way, and the two of you sharing your HUGS have led me to see all the things and people in my life that I can HUG!

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

