Skip to content

Hug #52

September 23, 2011
Chicago Huggers

Chicago Huggers

We Hugged it out for Ya’ll! 

This message comes extremely late from the date of Hugging due to moving on, moving on. This stuff is hard to express, and perhaps that is some cause for my delinquency. We have been planning new adventures for ourselves and for the world….I imagine that you might think of us when you Hug and that you may let that Hug last a little longer, with more breathing and more listening.

I wrote a poem that day, that perfect sun filled, heart felt day. Thank you to everyone that participated, lovelies, one and all!! Here goes my sappy love poem, the Ode to the Hug:

Huggers and young dancer

Huggers and young dancer

Perfect day for hugging.

Sweet and hot and breezy.

Jets consuming sky ways.

We are a few soft sculptures among hundreds of giant metal bodies, we are living, breathing, flowers. Our hugs are sparse, long, enduring.

We lean in and on and rest and sigh and hear the slowness of our nearest one, our partner, our friend, our lover. Should we have let you know the moment of our exhalation? Because I heard your breath. I did.

And your Hug sometimes it feels like a pressure. An urge to respond. Confronted by your strong support. How do I stay now? I keep asking. And it bears repeating. When the songs in my head get rusty and skip, you jossle the needle so that I may have more access for listening. And again breathing, softening, releasing.

Letting go, forgetting. A lapse in knowing, and do I see darkness or blinding light? A sharp turn up or down? In spirals, and then my arms circle yours, and your arms circle me, and in our arms we have stood and are standing.

We know Hugs.

And we know that you know Hugs. And the repetition, it bears repeating. It takes time for healing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Zalek permalink
    September 23, 2011 1:38 am

    Hey, Luv – Maybe your deliquency is perfect for me. I see the Chicago Huggers. I read and feel your poem. My breathing becomes slower – as I need it to be right here and now. I am sharing your hug at just the perfect moment. You stored it up and gave it to me as needed . . . Love this Hug!

    • September 23, 2011 5:45 pm

      Yay! and I hope it leaves you feeling loved, because you are. Sending you electronic superHUGS! xoooo

  2. Bella permalink
    September 23, 2011 10:46 pm

    Lovely xxxHUGSxxx

Leave a Reply

